Trustees 150 150 Frome Heritage Museum

Frome Museum is run by a team of dedicated volunteers, including eight Trustees.

Michael Maggs

Michael Maggs, appointed the Chair of Trustees in September 2023, has degrees in natural sciences (physics) from the University of Cambridge, and in law from the University of London. He spent most of his professional life dealing with IP law, as partner in a firm of London patent attorneys.  He is the grandson of Norman Maggs, who was a pharmacist at 20 Bath Street, Frome and whose donations form the basis of the museum’s “Chemist’s Shop” collection.

Barry Edwards

Barry Edwards, joint Vice-Chair of Trustees, has been a Trustee for 10 years and chair of the Operations Committee for about five. He enjoys playing an active role in the museum’s exhibitions, displays and collections. He spent his career in education, culminating in the headship of a school in Bideford. He was a Choral Exhibitioner at the University of Cambridge and has sung with choirs all over the world. He also enjoys public speaking.

Robert Heath

Dr Robert Heath, joint Vice-Chair of Trustees, retired in 2017 from the University of Bath, where he was Associate Professor of Advertising Theory.  A University of Cambridge Engineering graduate, he worked for 25 years in marketing and advertising and for 21 years in market research. He is the author of two books about his profession, ‘The Hidden Power of Advertising’ and “Seducing the Subconscious: the psychology of emotional influence in advertising”.

Bob Cuzner

Bob Cuzner’s career included heading a team at the Central Office of Information briefing HM Diplomatic posts and commissioning agencies for publicity campaigns on behalf of government departments. Also: Marketing Manager for Hampshire County Council’s business units; Chair of the Communications Committee of the Central Buying Consortium, supporting government procurement until retirement in 2015; and Office for National Statistics Manager of the South-West Region for the 2021 Census. Bob is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Tesni Daniel

Tesni joined the museum as a trustee in November 2023. After gaining a BA in English Language and Literature followed by an MA in Victorian Literature, she worked for many years in advertising and direct marketing, latterly concentrating on fundraising and communications for charities. Tesni has a very wide and active range of interests across books, music, theatre, cinema and the visual arts. She also enjoys walking in the Mendips and, whenever possible, by the sea.

Chris de Groot

Chris became a Trustee in 2024 and is also on the committee of the Frome Society for Local Study as Trips Coordinator. She had a long career as a secondary school teacher of History in Bath and Hertfordshire and spent two years with Voluntary Service Overseas as a district education advisor in Cambodia. She has a BA in History from the University of Sussex.

Brian Marshall

Brian Marshall joined Frome Museum as a steward in March 2009, was later appointed Treasurer and became a Trustee in 2018.  He has lived in Frome all his life and worked in the Accounts Department of the Ministry of Defence for 40 years. With a keen interest in family history, he was a regular visitor to the museum for many years before taking on a formal role.

Angela Pater

Angela Pater became a Trustee in 2023. She was previously a member of the Parochial Church Council of St John the Baptist church in Frome. Qualifying as a Chartered Secretary after studying at the University of Warwick, she held several roles in local government and then spent over 20 years working in higher education, in governance and general administration, at the University of Bath and the University of Sussex.

Andrew Ziminski

Andrew Ziminski is a Frome-based stonemason whose many projects include creating a Stonehenge megalith, restoring the Roman ruins in Bath and working on the tower of Salisbury Cathedral and the dome of St Paul’s Cathedral. He is a SPAB William Morris Craft Fellow, a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, and a consultant to the Salisbury Diocesan advisory committee for the care of churches.